Symphony in the Domain 2011 – for everyone?

After a rather successful year of blogging in 2010 I thought I’d be really lazy and start my 2011 at the end of January. Aren’t I thoughtful? The real reason for this total neglect would have something to do with house hunting, job searching and laziness. Oh, the joys of laziness! One day I’ll end up thinking I’m in some sort of misguided time warp as I dig around for more Doritos while dreaming about some imaginary past….but that’s for the future to dictate – let’s get on with now…

As for today, this glorious day of days, I’m going to bump out some well needed thoughts about what we consider to be “free” in this country, (in terms of live entertainment), and why it can really suck being educated in certain circumstances…

I love classical music. I grew up with it, I danced to it and I played it, (and one day I will eventually start playing again), but that doesn’t make me some glorified snob. For instance, I know pretty much nothing about rap music. This makes me uneducated and in certain communities I can be considered to be incredibly thick. Therefore, when you go to a free event like Symphony in the Domain and witness a drunken brawl break out in front of you over some guy’s “bitch” (quote), you tend to think why so many people are there in the first place. Is it because it’s free and they can drink or is it because they enjoy the wonder that is classical music? Who knows? I will say this – if you want to get pissed go to a pub. Fair enough?

Apart from the overcrowding and questionable audience members, the Sydney Symphony played superbly. It’s always a thrill to watch Tchaikovsky’s 1812 Overture performed live amongst a wonderful array of fireworks and cannon fire.

Another special addition this year was John Bell. What a brilliant orator that man is, reciting soliloquy’s from some of Shakespeare’s greatest works – it was a special touch to the evening and it was definitely worth waiting for…if you’re as into Shakespeare as I am.

In summation, I love these free events because I consider them to be incredibly important in our day and age where nothing comes for “free “. Afterall, it’s so very hard to keep ones head above water financially we tend to forget what true enjoyment really is. However, it’s so disappointing to see idiots getting a kick out of picking fights with security staff just for the hell of it while John Bell recites the St. Crispin’s Day speech from Shakespeare’s Henry V. But it’s a free event right?

Peace and Happy New Year,

– C

P.S. For all of those Opera lovers remember that next Saturday night is Opera in the Domain – be sure to get a good seat!  Also, be sure to check out the launch of the Chinese New Year celebrations which start next Friday. Head on down to Belmore Park from 6pm – 8pm. Both are free events so don’t miss them.

All photos taken by Shane Van Laar @ www.shanevanlaar.com

 

1 Comment

Filed under Daily opinions, Music, Theatre

One response to “Symphony in the Domain 2011 – for everyone?

  1. Shane

    I absolutely loved the performance, as for the crowd – I think the actions of some people (a very small portion) at this event was an outright abuse of this fantastic opportunity.

    I’m eagerly awaiting Opera in the Domain and can’t wait to read your piece on the event. A great piece to start the New Year 🙂

Leave a Reply

